Posted by in Food, Food Products, Reviews | 0 comments


Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 11.18.27 PM








Over the past few years I’ve heard more and more about cacao powder and it wasn’t until about 6 months ago that I broke down and decided to explore the world of cacao.. and it is UGHMAZING.






Raw cacao is made by cold-pressing unroasted cocoa beans. The process keeps the living enzymes in the cocoa and removes the fat (cacao butter).



Cocoa looks the same but it’s not. Cocoa powder is raw cacao that’s been roasted at high temperatures. Sadly, roasting changes the molecular structure of the cocoa bean, reducing the enzyme content and lowering the overall nutritional value.


Many have the argument that cocoa and cacao are exactly the same, but the fact the cacao is not processed and heated to high temperatures like that of cocoa leads me to believe that it has to provide more nutrients


After experiencing Navitas Naturals Cacao, I can’t live without this amazing antioxidant powder that’s high in iron and magnesium as it is so versatile and it gives your food a healthy flavor boost!!


Cocoa powder 

Navitas Naturals Cacao Powder








Navitas Naturals – the superfood company


The mission of Navitas Naturals is to provide the finest organic superfoods that increase energy and enhance health. Since 2003, health-conscious people have been choosing our organic superfoods because they’re a diverse whole-food source of antioxidants, protein, essential fats, minerals, vitamins and other key nutrients.


Organic Goodness


All of our products are certified organic and use methods such as freeze-drying and low temperature processing to ensure maximum nutrition and flavor. Organic is important for ensuring the integrity of our foods that people eat, and for protecting the environment and the health of farmers.


Quality & Food Safety


Food safety is very important to Navitas Naturals, and that is demonstrated by the rigorous third-party testing of our superfoods. Our facility and processing systems are certified organic, and are also certified under GMP and HACCP – important voluntary programs for ensuring food safety and quality. We also nurture our supplier relationships because they are critical towards achieving and maintaining high quality products.




Our products are Non-GMO Project Verified. That means they’ve met the rigorous standards of the Non-GMO Project – an independent non-profit reviewer that ensures products are made according to best practices for GMO avoidance.


Sustainable Agriculture for Native Farmers


Navitas Naturals is committed to socially responsible business practices. Our direct purchasing partnerships create and expand fair trade economic opportunities for farming communities in developing regions around the world.




Cacao Powder

antioxidants  |  iron  |  magnesium


Cacao is a top source of antioxidants, and it contains an abundance of magnesium and iron. To make our cacao powder, the finest cacao beans are milled at low temperature to protect the nutrients and flavor. Our raw powder is a healthy alternative to conventional over-processed “cocoa” used for baking, hot chocolate, desserts and smoothies. 




                          Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 10.45.49 PM         Screen Shot 2014-03-27 at 10.45.53 PM                    

        Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 11.18.27 PM



















David Wolfe on why he loves cacao 



What is Cacao? 


Cacao is a type of tropical tree, part of the evergreen family, that produces the world’s chocolate in raw form, before fat, sugar, and other “sweeteners” are added. The cacao tree grows in a few specific regions of the world naturally, including Mexico and South America, where most of the cacao or chocolate beans/seeds come from. Cacao trees only grow in tropical areas with the right combination of climate, temperature, and environment factors. 


The Cacao tree has been grown and harvested for thousands of years, and still so today, for its powerful chocolate seeds. Many things are made from this raw seed, such as cocoa (pulverized cacao seed mixed with sweeteners), chocolate (candy, drinks, etc…) and cocoa butter. 


Each of the pods can produce as many as 40 seeds (called beans before they are processed and stripped of their hard protective shell). The “beans” are approximately one inch wide. There are many different Theobroma tree species being cultivated in Tropical South America every year. 





Cacao Antioxidants


Cacao beans contain natural chemicals called flavonoids, a type of antioxidant compound that promotes general health and might lower your risk of several diseases. One type of flavonoid, called anthocyanidin, is especially high in cacao beans, along with other compounds called epicatechins. These compounds are powerful antioxidants and, according to a study in the “Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry” published in 2003, are especially concentrated in cocoa, a product of cacao beans. In that study, researchers compared the antioxidant capacity of black tea, green tea, red wine and cocoa, concluding that cocoa has the highest antioxidant activity among the four products and the greatest potential for health benefits.




Antioxidant Benefits


Antioxidants stabilize and ultimately destroy free radicals in your cells and tissues. These potentially damaging chemicals are natural by-products of metabolism. They also form when your body breaks down environmental toxins such as cigarette smoke and organic solvents. Free radicals can injure your cells by interfering with cell membranes, damaging DNA and altering other cell components. Over time, a buildup of free radicals can accelerate aging, contribute to vascular changes that lead to heart disease and raise your risk of developing cancer. In addition to removing free radicals, antioxidants also help decrease inflammation that can contribute to arthritis and other diseases, and they can prevent changes in platelets that might produce blood clots.


Dietary Fiber


Cacao may help to keep your bowel movements regular. A 1-ounce serving of raw cacao nibs contains 36 percent of the recommended daily intake of dietary fiber, or 9 grams. Adding as little as 6.6 grams of cacao fiber per day to your diet may improve your bowel habits, according to a clinical study appearing in “Nutrition and Metabolism.” Subjects in this study were given cocoa powder supplemented with high-fiber cocoa bran in a semi-skimmed milk drink twice daily for two four-week periods, separated by a three-week period in which cocoa was not consumed. The frequency of bowel movements increased and feelings of constipation decreased during the periods when cocoa powder was consumed.


Cardiovascular Benefits


Flavonoid antioxidants in cacao have significant benefits for your cardiovascular system, according to Silvina Lotito, Ph.D., of the Linus Pauling Institute. She indicates that proanthocyanidin compounds in cocoa powder can help decrease oxidation of low-density lipoprotein, or LDL. Often called bad cholesterol, LDL is oxidized and then deposited in plaque. Plaque produces fat accumulations in arteries that can lead to atherosclerosis, or hardening of the arteries. Because cacao antioxidants block LDL oxidation, they can prevent plaque formation, improving circulation and lowering your risk of heart disease.




The Linus Pauling Institute indicates that flavonoid antioxidants such as those found in cacao might interfere with the development of cancer. In one laboratory study published in 2002 in “Cancer Letters,” anthocyanidins from cacao reduced the incidence of chemically induced pancreatic and breast cancer in laboratory animals. In a review of evidence from human subjects, published in 2009 in “Nutrition and Cancer,” researchers concluded that compounds in cacao might prevent cancer or improve the outcome when the disease is already present. However, they state that more extensive studies with larger populations are needed to confirm this.




















My Name is Gabrielle and I’m the founder & creator of I established this blog in May of 2012 to share my experience and knowledge as I pursue a career as a Registered Dietitian in New York City. I currently hold a BS in Nutrition and Dietetics from NYU and am pursuing a MS in Nutrition and Health Sciences at Brooklyn College.





Subscribe to Eat Drink Shrink Newsletter

Get exclusive recipes delivered straight to your inbox plus a FREE iTunes Vegan Desserts E-book with over 40 Recipes!

*Full discount code provided post email confirmation!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *